Entranced

xx019_Entranced

 

The cave entrance, a crystal shell – a sparkling galaxy wrapped tight around a black void – is at the summit of an insurmountable highland. I am far below, moving within a tropical forest. My eyes trace stringy vines, tall bushes, high palm fronds, scanning for each patch of radiance that manages to pierce the canopy.
Soon though, I sense lightness throughout my entire being and feel myself moving more quickly. My feet are barely touching the ground. The jungle seems to clear slightly. More light shines through and I am surrounded by a warming wind.

A flurry of butterflies circles my perimeter and swirls upward in airy gyres. As the humid valley fills up with myriad tones of live color, their upward motion endows the environment with a sense of weightlessness. The airborne Lacewings, Clippers, Sulphers, Julias, and Swallowtails create a vacuum, in which I feel myself lifted up and through the verdant density. Joyfully, I hear myself repeating the phrase, “I am flying! I am flying!”

Upward toward the plateau, my confidence builds until I am able to maneuver easily. Before me lies the ancient cavern. The sharp crack of the cave mouth is too slim, yet I seem to slide in with ease. And instead of the utter darkness I had anticipated, the space before me is endless, bright, and open.

Miles of bone-white sand lie below me as I glide easily above the gently rolling dunes. In the far distance, a giant gateway appears. Comprised of two brilliant flowering pillars of cactus rising a hundred feet into the air and covered by a floral arch, the sight of it rushing toward me stuns me into the sudden realization I am dreaming.

And because this is a dream, I am free to let go, to explore, to fly ever farther through this infinite moment…

(to be continued…)

*

Image: Tullio DeSantis, Digital Photos and Collage, 2009

 

1 Comment

Filed under ARTology Now

One response to “Entranced

  1. Gabriella Wertheim

    What a beautiful dream! Wish i could fly in mine! Usually the meaning in a dream that you fly in suggests that you are on top of a situation. You have risen above something. It may also mean that you have gained a new and different perspective on things. Flying dreams and the ability to control your flight is representative of your own personal sense of power. Again like my last comment of how you have utter control in your life. And, if I do fly, i have difficulty doing it and can not get off the ground very easily and stay close if I do. It must be wonderful.

Your comments are welcome.